Ends on March 15, 2018

David Palubeski Bursary


Your application must be completed online and successfully submitted no later than March 15, 2018.

CIP-PSTF will award one David Palubeski Bursary in 2018 of $3,000.

In recognition of David’s contribution to Canadian planning, The David Palubeski Bursary was created by his family, colleagues, and friends. The bursary celebrates David’s contribution to Canadian planning practice and CIP. It will support Canadian planning students who are CIP members and registered in an accredited Canadian planning program. The award will be offered annually, alternating each year to support a student entering the fourth year of an undergraduate program and a graduate student entering the second year of the program. The first award will be offered to an undergraduate student.


Eligible students will demonstrate the following requirements: 

  • Financial assistance required to support their education, as evidenced by government student loans documents or equivalent justification; 
  • Principal focus of studies on small and medium sized communities; 
  • Demonstrated interest in community planning, community/urban design, and/or sustainable land development. 


Each applicant will provide a statement of interest (800 words maximum) that addresses the preceding, and describes how their proposed year of study will contribute to a better understanding of planning in Canada. 

Each applicant will provide two letters of support, one from a faculty member in the student’s current program and one from a Registered Professional Planner, who is practicing in either a local government office or a consulting firm. The supporting letters will describe how the applicant is known to the letter writer and why the applicant is worthy of the bursary.


Your application and summaries must be completed online and successfully submitted no later than March 15, 2018.  Applications will be accepted online beginning in Winter 2017-2018.


A selection jury will be appointed by the CIP Planning Student Trust Fund (PSTF) and composed of three members, who serve for two-year terms. The jury will strive to be comprised of one CIP Fellow, the current student representative to the CIP Board, and one member of the Manitoba Professional Planners Institute

Email admin@cip-icu.ca if you have any questions.

Sign up form

Please enter a valid email address.

Your password must be at least 6 characters.